I interviewed Stephanie Booker, a 2007 graduate from the University of Georgia, for my Intro to PR class.

Stephanie graduated from UGA with a Bachelor’s in Journalism. This she told me when I was asking her about how important she thougth her degree was. Stephanie moved to Los Angeles after graduation where she began her career in entertainment industry. At Fox Atomic, she was a consultant for publicity and promotions from August 2007 to June 2007. Then she began working at “Entertainment Tonight” and “The Insider” in media relations from September 2007 until February 2008. Next, she would enter the public relations and communications industry as new media PR for Wolf Kasteler & Associates from February 2008 until October 2008.

We spoke as Stephanie was on her way to a interview. After a recent twitter update, I believe she recieved the job.

After explaning my class and what we were doing, I began with the following question:

  • What would be a typical week for you?

Normally, each day I would go through each client list to look at what they need. Monday and Tuesday I would write press releases or a pitch letter.

She exaplained a pitch letter’s by the example of a client that might need to be seen in the digial world. So, you would make a pitch letter to explain this is why they should be getting placement in the media world. Why they should be getting placement.

On wednesday I would call x amounts of differnets outlets to try and get to feature a story. You talk to a lot of people.

Everyday is so different, but your always talking with a lot of different people.

  • How important is writing in your career?

Pretty important, but that will also depend on the agency. Overall, you are writing press releases, bios, pitch releases, and e-mails.

Stephanie recieves on average 500 e-mails a day. You need to be able to write in a way that you sound intelligent. All the others you may have other people looking at or time to revise.

  • What tips would you offer someone just starting out in PR?

#1 Networking is your best friend. Twitter is awesome [for that]. You meet and talk with so many people, and you have to be able to network and pull contacts.

#2 Intern! It will teach and prepare you for your career. It also helps you to get your foot in the door.

#3 Learn to take rejection well. There are a lot of people telling you no. You make so many phone calls, but in general, you are the one trying to get your client noticed.

  • What do you do to keep current in the PR industy?

My new thing is twitter. Follow people in the industry helped me out a lot. She also follows some of the bigger blogs.

 

I wanted to interview someone starting out in the buisness, because they are closer to where I will be in a few years. I also think you get a fresh and untainted perspective. Stephanie is excited about her career, which gives me confindence in my career choice. The most valuable thing I will take from our interview is you create your own destiny and success. Stephanie is not a PR major yet has done undoublty well. You need to be innovative and learn things on your own.

Thanks again Stephanie for your time and help.

